Holden Caulfield, a man before his time.

In case you’re wondering, Mr Holden Caulfield is the main character in J.D Salinger’s classic novel A Catcher in the Rye, first published in 1951. Arguably one of the most influential and successful pieces of fictional literature ever produced, it still sells 250,000 copies a year totalling a huge 65million copies sold since 1951.

But that’s enough facts and figures, the reason it is so iconic and reputable is because the main character is so accurately formed and portrayed. Holden is a case of a confused, alienated and rebellious teenager who is so full of angst and frustration his mind barely controls his actions. Salinger sends him and his unique vocabulary on a destructive journey of self-discovery which involves under-age drinking, confrontations with prostitutes and petty violence.

It begins set in 1949 with Caulfield at a strict prep school, often compared to a military organisation. He drops out, accusing almost everyone there of being fake, or as he calls ‘phoneys’. From there on its a downward spiral of drinking and depression as he tries desperately to figure life and what he is going to do with his. It’s this confusion and lack of direction in which adolescents and young adults relate to so well.

But more importantly, it reflected the way the world’s society was heading. In the time and era the book was written, men and women were expected to marry before the age of 21, and if they didn’t serious concern and accusation were harboured against them. So, in this more conventional society, people would find a member of the opposite sex and settle down as quickly and smoothly as possible.

However, Holden was different, a maverick of 21st century thinking stuck in the mid 20th century. He didn’t want to conform and find a girl, find a career and have children all before he’d even reached his mid-twenties. He alienated himself from the norms of society, and for that he’s a martyr.

One of many artistic impressions of Holden.

And for this, I think at least, he must be considered as one of the most influential figures of the 20th century. Salinger created a symbol of change and a metaphor of youthful acceptance which, as his masterpiece gathered momentum, paved the way for new and modern thinking when it came to the real problems young people face.

Maybe it’s time for ‘catcher in the rye’ to become a real profession, saving innocent-minded youths from the evils of adulthood.

This entry was posted in Books and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

47 Responses to Holden Caulfield, a man before his time.

  1. I read the book about a year ago, and you are quite correct in your assessment with regards to the moral of the story. Books do not continue to sell millions upon millions of copies year after year like ‘The Catcher’ has by mistake or by a fluke. It was, and continues to be a story whose relevance is timeless.

    Thanks for sharing your perspective.

    Best,
    Kevin

    • shmadwon says:

      Thankyou very much, your comments mean a lot! I think ‘catcher’ is a close second behind George Orwell’s 1984 as the most influential text I’ve ever read, timeless as you said.

      Thanks again,
      Callum

  2. Thanx for the effort, keep up the good work Great work, I am going to start a small Blog Engine course work using your site I hope you enjoy blogging with the popular BlogEngine.net.Thethoughts you express are really awesome. Hope you will right some more posts.

  3. Bud Casten says:

    Hi there very cool website!! Guy .. Excellent .. Amazing .. I’ll bookmark your site and take the feeds additionally…I’m glad to find so many useful information right here in the put up, we want develop extra techniques on this regard, thanks for sharing. . . . . .

  4. Geralyn Loo says:

    Good web site! I really love how it is easy on my eyes and the data are well written. I am wondering how I could be notified when a new post has been made. I’ve subscribed to your RSS feed which must do the trick! Have a great day!

  5. Heya! I’m at work surfing around your blog from my new iphone 4! Just wanted to say I love reading through your blog and look forward to all your posts! Keep up the fantastic work!

  6. Thanks for another informative blog. The place else could I get that type of information written in such an ideal means? I have a challenge that I am simply now operating on, and I have been on the look out for such information.

  7. This website can be a stroll-by for all of the info you wanted about this and didn’t know who to ask. Glimpse here, and also you’ll definitely uncover it.

  8. Lynda Varley says:

    Youre so cool! I dont suppose Ive learn anything like this before. So nice to find any individual with some original ideas on this subject. realy thanks for beginning this up. this website is one thing that’s wanted on the net, someone with a bit of originality. helpful job for bringing something new to the internet!

  9. I do agree with all the ideas you have presented in your post. They are really convincing and will certainly work. Still, the posts are very short for beginners. Could you please extend them a little from next time? Thanks for the post.

    • shmadwon says:

      Thanks for sharing your views, but I think most bloggers and visitors of WordPress would rather read a shorter piece as compared to an essay of some sort. Plus, there’s only so much of your opinion people want to hear.

  10. Brady Porras says:

    Valuable info. Lucky me I discovered your website by accident, and I’m surprised why this coincidence did not happened in advance! I bookmarked it.

  11. Loyd Tajiri says:

    I will immediately take hold of your rss as I can’t to find your e-mail subscription link or newsletter service. Do you’ve any? Please allow me know so that I may just subscribe. Thanks.

    • shmadwon says:

      I think you can follow my blog through the WordPress format, and that will update you on any changes I make. Unfortunately I have no e-mail subscription but maybe I should look into it. Thanks for enlightening me!

  12. You really make it appear so easy along with your presentation however I find this topic to be actually something that I believe I’d never understand. It sort of feels too complex and extremely wide for me. I am looking ahead for your next put up, I will try to get the grasp of it!

    • shmadwon says:

      Haha no worries man, it’s one of those books which sometimes requires a second read! Yeah I’m in the process of writing another piece now, hope you enjoy.

  13. Roy Oropeza says:

    I was curious if you ever considered changing the structure of your site? Its very well written; I love what youve got to say. But maybe you could a little more in the way of content so people could connect with it better. Youve got an awful lot of text for only having 1 or 2 pictures. Maybe you could space it out better?

  14. Frank Evitts says:

    Currently it looks like WordPress is the preferred blogging platform out there right now. (from what I’ve read) Is that what you are using on your blog?

  15. Shira Ibric says:

    Thank you for another wonderful post. Where else could anyone get that type of info in such an ideal way of writing? I have a presentation next week, and I’m on the look for such information.

  16. Another thing I have noticed is always that for many people, bad credit is the reaction of circumstances further than their control. One example is they may have already been saddled by having an illness and as a consequence they have large bills going to collections. It would be due to a occupation loss or maybe the inability to work. Sometimes breakup can truly send the financial circumstances in a downward direction. Thanks for sharing your opinions on this blog site.

  17. Valuable information. Lucky me I discovered your website by chance, and I’m shocked why this coincidence didn’t took place earlier! I bookmarked it.

  18. Would you be all for exchanging hyperlinks?

  19. Magnificent goods from you, man. I’ve understand your stuff previous to and you are just too excellent. I really like what you have acquired here, certainly like what you are saying and the way in which you say it. You make it entertaining and you still take care of to keep it sensible. I can not wait to read much more from you. This is actually a terrific site.

  20. It’s really a great and helpful piece of information. I am happy that you just shared this helpful info with us. Please keep us up to date like this. Thanks for sharing.

  21. Thanks for your write-up. One other thing is always that individual states have their very own laws which affect people, which makes it extremely tough for the our lawmakers to come up with a different set of rules concerning property foreclosures on homeowners. The problem is that a state possesses own regulations which may have impact in an unwanted manner in relation to foreclosure insurance plans.

  22. Melvin Clair says:

    Thanks a lot for sharing this with all of us you really know what you’re talking about! Bookmarked. Kindly also visit my web site =). We could have a link exchange contract between us!

  23. Hello just wanted to give you a brief heads up and let you know a few of the pictures aren’t loading properly. I’m not sure why but I think its a linking issue. I’ve tried it in two different internet browsers and both show the same results.

  24. With havin so much content do you ever run into any issues of plagorism or copyright infringement? My website has a lot of unique content I’ve either created myself or outsourced but it looks like a lot of it is popping it up all over the internet without my permission. Do you know any methods to help stop content from being stolen? I’d genuinely appreciate it.

    • shmadwon says:

      I have had a guy saying he’d wish to use my work for his students, but I didn’t really mind the idea so relaxed the aspect of copyright on that one. The problem you’re experiencing is not one I can help you for sorry, maybe seek professional legal advice.

  25. Kallie Burth says:

    Thanks for taking the time to write down this article. It is been extremely helpful. It couldn’t have come at a greater time for me! http://www.ctctradeshows.com

  26. William Shakespeare: “Angels and ministers of grace defend us.Be thou a spirit of health, or goblin damned,Bring with thee airs from heaven, or blasts from hell,Be thy intents wicked, or charitable,Thou com’st in such a questionable shape,That I will speak to thee.”

Leave a comment